The results of the 2023 City of Buford municipal election have been released that decided one Commission seat and two Board of Education seats.

The seat for Phillip Beard, the current Commission Chairman was up for election this cycle. Beard had no challengers and has won his seat on the Buford Commission.

The Buford Board of Education had two seats up for election, the seats that belonged to Matthew Peevy and Daren Perkins. Perkins chose to retire from the school board while Peevy chose to seek re-election. With no challengers, Peevy has been reelected to his seat on the Board of Education.

Two candidates qualified to run for the seat that Perkins will vacate, Carolyn Buffington and Cory Burge. Burge has won the seat vacated by Perkins with 81% of the votes cast.

City Commission:Votes Received:Throw Outs:
Phillip Beard59266
Board of Education:Votes Received:Throw Outs:
Matthew Peevy59662
Board of Education:Votes Received:Throw Outs:
Carolyn Buffington1237
Cory Burge528Same as above
Verified by MonsterInsights