Several local high school lacrosse players were honored at the Gwinnett All-County Lacrosse Awards held earlier this month at North Gwinnett High School.

Three Buford players received individual awards coming off of a stellar season that ended with the boys earning the GHSA Class 7A state championship.

Those earning individual awards were:

  • Boys Attack of the Year: Evan Leonardo, Buford
  • Boys Midfielder of the Year: Matthew Scruggs, Buford
  • Boys Short Stick Defensive Midfielder of the Year: Jax Maloney, Buford

Several local players were named First Team All-County, Second Team All-County and Third Team All-County.

Those players named to an All-County Team are:

Girls First Team All-County


  • Megan Canavan, Buford


  • Madaleine Christensen, Buford

Girls Second Team All-County


  • Camilla Krogh, Buford
  • Addison Steinbrecher, Buford

Boys First Team All-County


  • Kamden Clack, Buford


  • Tucker Martin, Lanier


  • Jaydon Franklin, Buford


  • Austin Hurd, Buford

Boys Second Team All-County


  • Drew Maloney, Buford

Long Stick Midfielder

  • Jayden Vernot, Seckinger

Boys Third Team All-County


  • Colton Crawford, Buford

A girl and boy from each school have been honored with the Leadership Award. Below are the recipients from each school:

  • Buford: Kathryn Hennelly and Evan Leonardo
  • Lanier: Colin Goldstein
  • Seckinger: Adryanna Diaz and Isaac Arocho

The recipients of the Scholastic Award are:

  • Buford: Alayna Williamson, Jacob Olivo
  • Lanier: Gordon Phan
  • Seckinger: Rebecca Stewart and Jayden Vernot

Verified by MonsterInsights