Polls came to a close on Tuesday, May 21 in the 2024 Georgia General Primary and Non-partisan Elections. Incumbents won big with all incumbents on the ballot securing their party nomination for the November election. The formation of the city of Mulberry was a hot topic for many in the area.

Residents in the boundaries of the proposed new city of Mulberry voted to adopt the new city which limits stretch from Braselton in the north to near Dacula in the south. The formation of Mulberry received 56.96% of the votes in favor of it.

For the U.S. House of Representatives 9th District, incumbent Andrew Clyde secured the Republican nomination while Tambrei Cash will be his Democrat challenger.

State Senator Clint Dixon-R did not have any challengers in his bid to be re-elected to the 45th District seat. Incumbent Shawn Still has secured the Republican nomination for State Senate in District 48 and will face Democrat nominee Ashwin Ramaswami in November.

The local incumbent state representatives in Districts 30, 99, 100, 103, 104 and 105 clinched their party’s nomination.

The primary results for the Georgia House of Representatives are:

DistrictCandidate NamePartyIncumbent?No. of VotesPercentagePrimary Winner
30Derrick McCollumRY68484.86%Y
30Norine CantorR12215.14%
30Kim FloriaD332100%Y
99Matt ReevesRY1,888100%Y
99Michelle KangD1,964100%Y
100David ClarkRY1,51078.44%Y
100Michael DayR41521.56%
100Jennifer AmblerD1,008100%Y
103Soo HongRY1,826100%Y
103Chris LucheyD1,435100%Y
104Chuck EfstrationRY3,907100%Y
105Sandy DonatucciR2,209100%Y
105Farooq MughalDY2,292100%Y

In the county-level races, Gwinnett County Commission Chairwoman Nicole Love Hendrickson beat her challenger Donna McLeod with 71.41% of the Democrat votes. She will face off against Republican John Sabic in November. Sabic defeated Justice Nwaigwe with 65.19% of the votes in the Republican primary.

Incumbent Patsy Austin-Gatson has secured her re-election by getting 53.24% of the votes in the Democratic primary over Andrea Alabi (32.57%) and Daryl Manns (14.10%). Austin-Gatson does not have any Republican challengers.

Gwinnett County Commissioner for District 1 will have incumbent Kirkland Dion Carden-D facing Republican Tim Le in November.

Gwinnett County Sheriff Keybo Taylor has clinched the Democrat nomination with 67.77% in the primary over Curtis Clemons (15.97%), Joe Mark (7.61%) and Brian Whiteside (8.65%). Mike Baker defeated Baron Reinhold with 58.40% of the Republican primary votes for Gwinnett County Sheriff and will challenge Taylor’s re-election bid.

Incumbent Denise Mitchell captured 81.28% of the Democrat votes for the Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner over challenger Phillip Bonton III. Republican Arefeen Chowdhury will look to unseat Mitchell come November.

Tiana P. Garner is unopposed for her re-election as the Clerk of Superior Court.

Non-partisan Election Results

In the Georgia Supreme Court races, only one race was contested. Incumbent Andrew Pinson hangs onto his seat over John Barrow with 54.76% of the votes.

Michael Boggs, John Ellington and Nels Peterson all ran unopposed and have been re-elected to the Supreme Court judge seats.

Two Gwinnett Superior Court races were contested. Judge Beyers’s seat will face a run-off election. Regina Matthews had 45.10% of the votes while Tuwanda Rush Williams had 30.91% and B. Thassanee Gutter-Parker got 23.98%.

Kimberly Gallant won Gwinnett Superior Court Judge Batchelor’s seat over Rodney Harris with 61.44% of the votes.

Gwinnett Superior Court incumbents Tamela Adkins, Warren Davis, Deborah R. Fluker and Tadia Whitner were re-elected.

Incumbent Shawn Bratton will hold onto his seat in the State Court after getting 72.90% of the votes over challenger Ramona Toole Sakhanokho.

State Court judges Emily Jones Brantley, Carla Brown, Veronica Cope and Jaletta Long Smith were unopposed and were re-elected.

In the Georgia Court of Appeals, incumbents Stephen Dillard, Ken Hodges, Ben Land, Amanda Mercier, Brian Rickman and Jeffrey Watkins were unopposed while one seat was contested.

Tabitha Ponder received 52.30% of the votes over Jeff Davis (47.70%) to win the seat vacated by Yvette Miller in the Georgia Court of Appeals.

Christopher Ballar was re-elected to the Probate Court and Chief Magistrate Kristina Hammer Blum was also re-elected to her position.

Five candidates were vying for Dr. Mary Kay Murphy’s seat on the Gwinnett County Board of Education in District 3. Steve Gasper led the candidates with 36.11% of the votes over Shana V. White (21.33%), Domonique Cooper (20.07%), Yanin Cortes (16.11%) and Anthony Mulkey (6.38%). This race will require a run-off election.

The Homestead Exemption passed with 73.73% of the votes and 63.54% of the voters elected to adopt the Homestead Exemption for Public Service Workers.

Verified by MonsterInsights